Nippattu Masala recipe

 

IMG_0453

Street food —- n ME !!!! We are linked so close to each other 😛 Especially the chaat corner literally drives me crazy !!! I dont find a good chaat corner here in this place where I stay and that is the main reason I opened my own chaat corner in my kitchen to fulfil my needs 🙂

Street food captures everybody’s heart ! No age limits ! From a toddler to an old man most of them have a liking towards street foods. Every city have their own famous street foods. Back home, there is one, which I still visit without fail whenever I visit my mum ! There are few chaat recipes which are unusal and is confined to the city giving less chance of its exposure. Now when blogging world is vast !!! I am grabbing the opportunity to introduce this street chaat which is one of my favourite as well.

Nippattu is a spicy, deep fried snack made using Rice flour which has its origin from Karnataka. Like Nippattu there are few more popular snack items like Chakkli and Kodbale and there is a long list. I do not want to bore you by just mentioning the names 🙂 All these snack items are readily available in bakeries and without wasting anytime I grabbed a pack of those when I visited mom recently.  I shall make nippattu soon myself and post the recipe but for now I have used the store bought one for this chaat.

Lets not waste any more time and look down on the ingredients we need for this  :

Nippattu – 4

Onion – 1 small (finely chopped)

Tomato – 1 small ( finely chopped)

Congress kadle/tangy Groundnut – as required

Hari chutney (green chutney) – 1 tsp ( dilute it with 1tsp water)

Date tamarind chutney (Meetha)- 1 tsp (dilute with 1tsp water)

Slivered coconut – as required

Puffed rice – as required

Red chilli powder – as required

Chaat masala – as required

Chopped coriander leaves – as required

Dash of lime

Method:

  1. In a small plate place one nippattu, press it firm with your palm and break into pieces
  2. Add hari chutney, meetha chutney, finely chopped onions, finely chopped tomatoes, coconut, tangy groundnuts, red chilli powder, chaat masala, coriander leaves, salt and puffed rice
  3. Lastly add a dash of lime and serve immediately

Tips:

  • Please add grated carrots to this mentioned recipe. They taste great. I did not have carrots and had to skip that.

IMG_0459

IMG_0454

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

